Jackson Pollock

no-1-1948(1)

Often times when we see are like this, I think a lot of us scoff and think to ourselves that we can produce our own art like that if not better. Not going to lie, that’s kind of what I was thinking about this piece of paint splatters; however, a much closer look of the cohesiveness of the piece as well as the complexity gives me a slightly different outlook. At first glance, I may have passed judgment too quickly on this piece and even undermined its eminent effect (My exact thoughts may have been something along the lines of…this kind of looks like mold). Each of the continuous splatters of paint probably required much skill and finesse. The layers and color choices would have been part of the artist’s creative process. Furthermore, hanging at 6 feet tall and 9 feet wide, the full impact of this work was not reflected in the digital jpeg. I imagine that the sheer size of the painting would make it far more magnificent in person.

The first thing Sullivan points out that makes me realize I had failed to notice is the painting’s title. I actually hadn’t realized that the title of the painting is Number 1A. Although technically, when she states “no name but a number,” that’s slightly incorrect in my opinion and somewhat oversimplifying the title, but she gets her point across since I obviously hadn’t noticed the painting’s title up until this point. Throughout the rest of her poem, she goes into her own depiction of the painting with what seems like a series of analogies that leads to her main point.

Sullivan’s one line, “But paint. Such purity” actually helped me truly connect with these painting. Her line made me just get the whole concept of the piece. The piece revels in the purity of just paint. And, the way she ends her poem with “How to realize his question
Let alone his answer?” reminds me of my initial thoughts of the painting but with a far more sophisticated point of view. Rather than explaining what may seem like globs of paints to produce art, she zooms in on the purpose behind the painting with a highlight on the painting’s abstractivity and intricacy. However, what yields the most complexity is not even the artist’s question, but rather even if there is a question, what would the artist’s answer be that lies within this piece?

Leave a Reply

