Music Makes My Heart at Ease : AP IV BLOG PROMPT

Think about the music you enjoy. Choose a song that really means something profound to you because of the lyrics. Look up the lyrics and copy them into your blog post. Use a block quote to identify them.

Song: ease

troye sivan ft. broods

Lyrics:

[Troye Sivan:]
I’m down to my skin and bone
And my mommy, she can’t put down the phone
And stop asking how I’m doing all alone, alone
But the truth is the stars are falling, ma
And the wolves are out c-calling, ma
And my home has never felt this far

[Troye Sivan & Georgia Nott:]
But all this driving
Is driving me crazy
And all this moving
Is proving to get the best of me
And I’ve been trying to hide it
But lately
Every time I think I’m better
Pickin’ my head up, getting nowhere

[Troye Sivan & Georgia Nott:]
Take me back to the basics and the simple life
Tell me all of the things that make you feel at ease
Your touch, my comfort, and my lullaby
Holdin’ on tight and sleepin’ at night
Holdin’ on tight and sleepin’ at night

[Troye Sivan:]
Now I’m down to my skin and bones
My baby listens to me on the phone
But I can’t help feeling like I’m all alone, all alone
The truth is, the stars are falling, babe
And I’d never ever thought that I would say
I’m afraid of the life that I’ve made, I’ve made

[Troye Sivan & Georgia Nott:]
But all this driving
Is driving me crazy
And all this moving
Is proving to get the best of me
And I’ve been trying to hide it
But lately
Every time I think I’m better
Pickin’ my head up, getting nowhere

Take me back to the basics and the simple life
Tell me all of the things that make you feel at ease
Your touch, my comfort, and my lullaby
Holdin’ on tight and sleepin’ at night

[Georgia Nott:]
I’ve been lyin’ to them all
I don’t need it anymore
Don’t you worry about me
I’ll be fine if I can breathe
I’ve been hidin’ for too long
Taking sh*t for how I’m wrong
How I’m wrong
Always wrong

Take me back to the basics and the simple life
Tell me all of the things that make you feel at ease
Your touch, my comfort, and my lullaby
Holdin’ on tight and sleepin’ at night
Holdin’ on tight and sleepin’ at night

Holdin’ on tight and sleepin’ at night
Holdin’ on tight and sleepin’ at night
(Take me back to the basics and the simple life)
Holdin’ on tight and sleepin’ at night
(Tell me all of the things that make you feel at ease)
Holdin’ on tight and sleepin’ at night
(Your touch, my comfort, and my lullaby)
Holdin’ on tight and sleepin’ at night

I guess I didn’t realize how much I enjoyed this song since I completely forgot that this song even existed on my blog, and I just so happen to realize that it’s the song I’ve set for my home page as I was starting this post. Several years ago, I was navigating through YouTube on a dull summer’s night, and my aimless clicking led me to the YouTuber, Troye Sivan. I’ve been following him ever since, and his music has just recently gained some widespread popularity. The group that he happens to collaborate with for this song, Broods, is another one of my favorite artists– one of their songs is set on this page (my blog)– so you can imagine my excitement when I found out about their collaboration for this song.

The beginning of the song begins with a hard beat like the pounding of drums. Then, once Troye begins to sing, you begin to sense how light and ethereal the song really is which draws the listener in. My favorite lyrics begin at “take me back to the basics and the simple life. Tell me all of the things that make you feel at ease.” They perfectly describe a feeling that we can all understand. Though I know it doesn’t exactly correlate to the song’s symbolic meaning; for me, it kind of serves as a reminder about what our focus in life is. We often forget about the central “big idea” and get caught up in all the tiny details. Also, this segment is highlight by the beautiful harmonizing between Troye Sivan and Georgia Nott (who are both amazing singers!).

As for the story or theme of the song itself, I think the most alluring part of the song is how it depicts a story yet lyrics can be broken down in terms of being relatable to the listener. I imagine a teenage kid who feels lost and unsure about life at the beginning of the song. Slowly, we can follow alongside this character and all his feelings which can also reflect how we often feel as well despite not being in the same exact situation. Feel free to check out this song in the video below and comment your thoughts and how this song makes you feel.

2 thoughts on “Music Makes My Heart at Ease : AP IV BLOG PROMPT

Leave a Reply

