“Strange like me”-Frida Kahlo: AP IV BLOG PROMPT

This week, you’ll once again be looking for something that interests you, but I’m going to give you a particular place to look. Go visit zenpencils.com and spend some time reading. I think you’re really going to like this website. Here’s a brief description from the zenpencils “about” page:

Gavin Aung Than is a cartoonist based in Melbourne, Australia. After working in the corporate graphic design industry for 8 years he quit his unfulfilling job at the end of 2011 to focus on his true passion, drawing cartoons. Gavin launched Zen Pencilsat the start of 2012, a cartoon blog which adapts inspirational quotes into comic stories, and hasn’t looked back since.

Using the drop-down menu at the top of the zenpencils homepage, you can navigate over 180 of Than’s comics. Read until you find one that really speaks to you. On your blog, write about the comic you decided on. Why did you choose it? How does it speak to you? What is important about the text? What is important about the images? Write about the things that are important to you. Include a link to the individual comic in your post.

ZenPencils Comic Link

Artistry and beauty reside with creativity. I remember the first time I ever saw Frida Kahlo. Her self-portrait sat in my Spanish textbook next to a brief explanation about her background. Often times, as I flipped through that textbook, I would pause on the page with her self-portrait. Her strange  look stared intensely back at me. I never stared at the portrait because I thought her to be extremely attractive, but rather I found her to be intriguing with almost a mesmerizing quality.

I chose the comic on ZenPencils because I still find Frida Kahlo to be an interesting character. Also, I enjoyed the message behind the story of this comic and what Frida Kahlo is able to represent. The two key components of the message were that people learn to accept themselves when they have other people that they can relate to, and the things that make you feel different or separated from others are what make you unique. Lastly, I think a personal lesson that I recognized from this comic was that you can find beauty in the unconventional things that other people consider ugly.

This comic produces such a touching message depicted through the story of a young girl who does not feel as if she fits in because of her uni-brow. The comic is able to showcase through the art how alone and isolated the girl feels as a result. On the other hand, the text follows through a narrative that could either be that of the young girl’s or through an alternate perspective, the words of Frida Kahlo. The possibility of the young girl sharing the same thoughts as an extremely influential artist makes the words all the more meaningful. Oddly, my final thoughts of Frida Kahlo’s piece was the lasting impression of how strangely beautiful Frida Kahlo was despite not fitting into what society deems to be beautiful. She exudes beauty in her own unique way through her artistry and creations.

9 thoughts on ““Strange like me”-Frida Kahlo: AP IV BLOG PROMPT

  1. needknottoknow says:

    Wow — this comic is quite telling in its message regarding an appreciation for self and not simply what society wants. If you think about it, there are so many people, especially young people, whose dreams are dictated and even changed by what others think about them. It takes a realization that there are people like you, like who you truly are to make you understand how trivial the mass majority’s whims really are. Also, I like how you linked beauty to creativity; after all, creativity is the product of a free mind.

    Like

  2. i'm not mad(s) says:

    I really enjoyed how you talked about the beauty of Frida Kahlo and how she was beautiful despite the societal views on what beauty is. What I think is even more interesting about that is how Kahlo painted self portraits. I’m not really sure if she did it to prove a point -you are beautiful even if you don’t fit into society’s idea of “beauty”, maybe- or if that was just what fit her artistic style, but personally I think she was so creative and interesting that she had to have some sort of message behind her work. We studied her before in Spanish classes because she was so influential to their art and also with women’s rights. I love how creative the author of Zen Pencils is as well; I never would have thought to make that quote into a story about a little girl that looks like Kahlo with her unibrow. Maybe the author of zen pencils will help spread a little positivity and remind people that you are beautiful, even if the magazines say otherwise.

    Like

    • ellenphant7 says:

      You make such a good point! I totally didn’t mention that aspect of her paintings because I completely forget about it as her self-portrait. I think you’re absolutely right; she definitely could have been making a point by portraying herself in a certain way especially that she in no way over-glamorized herself. I know personally that if I’m doing something as simple as taking a selfie, then I most definitely want it to be with the most flattering angles and lighting (lol). Thanks for commenting. And, yes, I think the creator of ZenPencils is definitely spreading a message of his own through different means.

      Like

  3. jkharris97 says:

    First off Ellen, why is your blog so perfect? Like I’ve seen your course load at school and I truly don’t understand how you have this so well put together on top of everything else, go you.
    But as far as this particular post goes, I really dig it. I remember that picture in Spanish and how it was so strangely beautiful and powerful to me too. Frida Kahlo is an amazing soul that graced the earth and I’m really glad you found this comic and shared your thoughts on it with the world.

    Like

    • ellenphant7 says:

      Oh my gosh. You’re too sweet! Thanks so much for such a nice comment ❤ I'm really not used to that many people I know looking at my blog or commenting on it. haha so it's definitely interesting to see what everyone thinks. Thanks again:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

