Weekly Poetry Post: “No Jeans for Me, Please”

“NO jeans for me, please”

POEM BY ELLEN LI

Jeans have always been a thing.

A forever-in-fashion-kinda thing.

But, not until recent,

They weren’t a thing for me.

*   *   *   *   *   *    *    *   *   *   *   *   *

Living in the world of ice and snow,

Makes the blue threads all the more frigid.

And, all that just means…

“No Jeans for Me, Please.”

*   *   *   *   *   *    *    *   *   *   *   *   *

I may never be that kid with the clothes that are “in”

But, didn’t have to endure the chilly creep

That crawls up from your toes,

Through your knees.

Like encasing sleeves of jeans.

No thanks, Not for me!

*   *   *   *   *   *    *    *   *   *   *   *   *

Yes, no jeans means…

Hot fuzzy sweats that kept me free

Of those darn prickly shivery blue jeans.

I may have had to pay a price

An outta-style-fat-fluffy-warm price

Just to stay outta those monstrous articles of clothing.

But, that was just me.

*   *   *   *   *   *    *    *   *   *   *   *   *

Now, I still remember that chilly creep

Brought from those darn blue jeans

But, it no longer follows me.

And, I can wear jeans when I please.

*   *   *   *   *   *    *    *   *   *   *   *   *

There are still days

When I’ll throwback to the shame

Of those ugly sweats that still bring me comfort to this day

And, I feel free to say,

“No Jeans for Me, Please.”

Leave a Reply

