MEDIOCRITY

M e d i o c r i t y

POEM BY ELLEN LI

I live in a world where

I am not the best

I am not the worst

I am mediocrity.

*   *   *   *   *   *    *    *   *   *   *   *   *

I live in a world where

I am not at the top

I am not at the bottom

I am mediocrity.

*   *   *   *   *   *    *    *   *   *   *   *   *

I live in a world where

I am not the winner

I am not the loser

I am mediocrity.

*   *   *   *   *   *    *    *   *   *   *   *   *

I live in a world where

I am not the prettiest

I am not the ugliest

I am mediocrity.

*   *   *   *   *   *    *    *   *   *   *   *   *

I live in a world where

I can never be the center of attention– I squirm under their gaze

I do not have a shadow cast upon me– the paradox of the attention non-attention seeker

I live in mediocrity.

*   *   *   *   *   *    *    *   *   *   *   *   *

In a world of individuality,

I can only breed mediocrity.

*   *   *   *   *   *    *    *   *   *   *   *   *

In a world of mediocrity,

I’m sorry, but I don’t know what you want from me.

*   *   *   *   *   *    *    *   *   *   *   *   *

The cry of mediocrity.

M E D I O C R I T Y.

Leave a Reply

